2014 Summer Reading

The last book on my summer reading list came in this morning and I’m no longer taking recommendations (though I could add them to a fall reading list).  Even this list is already starting to look daunting when I look at my calendar. I need to write reviews or responses on several of these so for the most part they’re in the order in which I’ll read them.  What are you reading this summer, dear readers? Any ambitious goals? Or maybe you’re taking a break and reading only graphic novels and fiction? 

reading list

 

Ada María Isasi-Díazand and Eduardo Mendieta, eds.,  Decolonizing Epistemologies: Latina/o Theology and Philosophy

Gil Anidjar, Blood: A Critique of Christianity 

J. Kameron Carter, Race: A Theological Account

Scott Lyons, X-Marks: Native Signatures of Assent 

Daniel Colucciello Barber, Deleuze and the Naming of God: Post-Secularism and the Future of Immanence

Anthony Paul Smith, A Non-Philosophical Theory of Nature: Ecologies of Thought  (unfortunately, not pictured)

Audre Lorde, Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches

Ella Deloria, Waterlily 

Willie James Jennings, The Christian Imagination: Theology and the Origins of Race

Kenneth Surin, Freedom Not Yet: Liberation and the Next World Order

Alain Epp Weaver, Mapping Exile and Return: Palestinian Dispossession and a Political Theology for a Shared Future

Marie Battiste, Decolonizing Education: Nourishing the Learning Spirit 

9 comments on “2014 Summer Reading

  1. I tend to have broad reading arcs. Right now I am in the middle of one in psychoanalysis. So I have worked through a number of Freud’s books and will move on to a few of Lacan’s and then some secondary stuff on Freud by Ricoeur and Said.
    Then I hope to do more background on immanence reading Lucretius, Scotus, and Spinoza and then getting into the modern stuff.
    No idea how long these will take
    Of course I always get side tracked by greed for books-for-review (currently readings Goodchild’s most recent and APS’s is in the mail).

  2. Dave Mesing says:

    This is a great list. A friend or two recently read the Decolonializing Epistemologies book and highly recommended it. My list is still a bit scattered, so this served as inspiration for trying to formalize it. I’ve already read one or two of these books, and a lot of them are either preparation or anticipation for two summer schools I’m doing (http://www.collegiumphaenomenologicum.org/ and http://pghsummersymposium6.wix.com/pghsummersymp2014).

    Paul Livingston – The Politics of Logic: Badiou, Wittgenstein, and the Consequences of Formalism
    Tom Eyers – Post-Rationalism: Psychoanalysis, Epistemology, and Marxism in Post-War France
    Bruno Bosteels – Badiou and Politics
    Badiou – Being and Event / Logics of Worlds (selections)

    I’m almost finished with the first three of these–the latter two still loom large, and probably won’t happen, in part because of the other mini-list I’ve started:

    Laruelle – Philosophies of Difference
    Badiou – Theoretical Writings
    Badiou – Theory of the Subject
    Laruelle – Anti-Badiou

    I’m trying to go in that order, in part to prepare to read the “big” Badiou books, and in part to finally put the wheels in motion for an overdue encounter with Laruelle. Then I’ve got a handful of more ambitious projects, which probably won’t happen:

    Colby Dickinson – Between the Canon and the Messiah: The Structure of Faith in Contemporary Continental Philosophy (for a review)
    Paolo Virno – E cosi via, all’infinito (slowly translating for myself)

    I’m hoping to read Francois Maspero’s novel Cat’s Grin soon, and I was also hoping to circle back to early Irigaray. Then there’s the Frederic Lordon book being released in a few weeks on Spinoza and Marx on Desire, that I won’t be able to avoid purchasing. And then… and then…

    (at least it’s only May!)

    • Kampen says:

      Wow, and I thought my list was ambitious! (it’s only may, it’s only may, it’s only may, etc.)

      • Dave Mesing says:

        To be honest, I will be pretty happy if I read the two Laruelle books and Badiou’s Theory of the Subject. The first set of the books (Livingston et al) are for the Pittsburgh summer school I’m doing, but I’m reading those pretty quickly just to get a sense for the arguments.

        If I really get ambitious, perhaps I’ll impulse buy the Anidjar and try to read along with everybody late in the summer, but that will be after both of the summer schools/international travel, so it’s more likely that I’ll be queuing up some netflix shows and opening the AUFS posts in my browser, wishing I had the intellectual energy to keep up.

  3. Dale Friesen says:

    My list won’t be as theological yours, but alas it is my list!

    “You herd me” by Colin Cowherd
    “The Bourne Identity” by Robert Ludlum
    “The Jesus Legend by Greg Boyd and Paul Eddy

  4. I am going to read Deleuze’s books on cinema, and his book on (the other) Francis Bacon. (I really want to read Barber’s on Deleuze, but I don’t think I’ll get around to it this summer). I also plan to finish reading through the rest of Agamben and Nancy in English if I can, M-Ponty’s Visible and Invisible, and few of Heidegger’s seminars. Also I got Andijar’s book and I’m going to follow along with you and the gang on AUFS. Lastly, I’m going to read some Virginia Woolf and Dylan Thomas, because life without fiction and poetry is sad and morose.

Leave a Reply

