Top 10 of 2010 Reading

Jon’s post over at This Side of Sunday prompted me to come up with a list of my own significant pieces of non-fiction from 2010. My total reading list was noticeably short in comparison to other years. This is likely due to spending the first 5 months of the year teaching English in Egypt and making a pilgrimage through the Holy Land. Reading was important throughout those times but it was slower and more historical (which tends not to make my top reading lists). Upon my return, I picked up an intensive summer course at Canadian Mennonite University’s Canadian School of Peacebuilding and re-assumed my role as a full time student in fall. My top 10 list is primarily non-fiction books but also includes a couple particular essays (the order is insignificant).

 

Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Life Together

 

 

 

 

 

Karl Barth, Evangelical Theology

 

 

 

 

 

Rowan Williams, Resurrection

 

 

 

 

 

Soren Kierkegaard, The Sickness Unto Death

 

 

 

 

 

Daniel Coluciello Barber, “Epistemological Violence, Christianity, and the Secular” in The New Yoder eds. Peter Dula and Chris K. Huebner

 

 

 

 

Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil

 

 

 

 

 

Henri Bergson, The Two Sources of Morality and Religion

 

 

 

Anthony Paul Smith, “Eternal Custodians of a Machine for the Making of Gods: Thinking Ecological Restoration with Bergson and Deleuze/Guattari”

 

Chris K. Huebner, A Precarious Peace: Yoderian Explorations on Theology, Knowledge, and Identity

 

 

 

 

Slavoj Zizek, Violence

 

 

 

 

And the one piece of literature that stood out above all the others

Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose


7 comments on “Top 10 of 2010 Reading

  1. Steven Demmler says:

    I recently finished “The Name of the Rose”. What did you think of it?

    • Kampen says:

      The first 100 or so pages were a drag but after that I couldn’t put it down. One of the things I found most interesting was William’s apparently non-urgent approach to his investigation of the murders. At times it bothered me but it also made me think of Zizek’s critique of the pseudo-activity of the western-left-activist in his book Violence as well as John Howard Yoder’s (20th Cent. Mennonite Theologian) suggestion of patience as an appropriately Christian response to violence.

  2. A great list … the kind of books that you could read two years running, and that with great profit.

  3. Jon Coutts says:

    The Name of the Rose was awesome. I would like to read several of these books, thanks for this list. I am fairly certain Rowan Williams’ Resurrection and anything Yoder will soon be invading my own.

    • Kampen says:

      And I hope you will blog about your Yoderian insights when they do! I haven’t had a chance to pick up Barth’s Doctrine of Rec. yet – perhaps the summer will give me a chance to do that. I always find the Christmas break too short to really get into any of my own side projects.

  4. Way too nice of you to include anything I’ve written. Thanks.

    • Kampen says:

      Well, I happen to think that what you wrote is important and one day I’ll hopefully be able to articulate why in regards to contemporary conflict resolution/peacebuilding approaches (which is my interest area where yours is ecology).

Leave a Reply

