Summer Reading Spree 2010

As of today I have exactly 60 days left of reading freedom. That is, 60 days before I return to the classroom and am confined to the readings my professors place before me. (They are usually wonderful, don’t get me wrong, but I’d rather solely pursue my study interests instead of wasting time with required courses. I am not getting any younger). So, after having completed my Canadian School of Peacebuilding course in Mennonite Approaches to Peace and Justice, I am now free to read what I please for the next 60 days. Problem is, there is a lot I want to read and/or think I should necessarily read. After much discernment and reading of introductions I have decided on the following:

Ed. Chris Huebner & Tripp York, The Gift of Difference: Radical Orthodoxy, Radical Reformation

Talal Asad, Formations of the Secular: Christianity, Islam, Modernity

Giorgio Agamben, Homo Sacer

John Howard Yoder, The Christian Witness to the State

William Cavanaugh, Being Consumed: Economics and Christian Desire

Paul J. Griffiths, The Vice of Curiosity (for the second time, because it was just so good the first time and you can read it in a day!)

Slavoj Zizek, The Puppet and the Dwarf (and The Fragile Absolute if I have time)

Selections from:

Hardt & Negri, Empire

Deleuze & Guattari, A Thousand Plateaus

Henri Bergson, The Two Sources of Morality and Religion (because Anthony Paul Smith just makes him sound so darn interesting)

Literature:

Michael Ondaatje, Anil’s Ghost

David James Duncan, The Brothers K

Considering that I am unemployed this should be absolutely doable.


3 comments on “Summer Reading Spree 2010

  1. dcld says:

    Just came across this blog via The Ass Festival. Just about to press the RSS!

  2. Kampen says:

    Awesome, thanks. Actually spotted you there today as well and hit the RSS.

  3. Julia says:

    That’s an exciting list. Agamben and Asad have been on my list for a long time. Next year, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

