Lenten Reading

As some of you may know, I am currently teaching English in Cairo. Before I left I compiled a stack of books that I would take along including several shorter reads specifically for Lent. My hope is to get into the following books more deeply and that their lack of length will aid me in delving into some depth I have not previously had time for. My reading list so far includes (but is not limited to, depending on what else I can find in Cairo):

Rowan Williams, Resurrection

John Howard Yoder, Body Politics

Stanley Hauerwas, Cross-Shattered Christ

Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Life Together

Romand Coles, “The Wild Patience of John Howard Yoder: “Outsiders” and the “Otherness of the Church” in The New Yoder, Ed. by Peter Dula and Chris K. Huebner

The Bible, the Gospel of John, Acts

What are others preparing to read?  Or reading during Lent?  Or other reading suggestions for Lent?

5 comments on “Lenten Reading

  1. Great suggestions Melanie.I’ve posted some links to some lenten studies (http://cruciality.wordpress.com/2010/02/17/lenten-resources) that may be of some encouragement too.

  2. adhunt says:

    If you’re reading ++Williams I wouldn’t pass up “Christ on Trial” which I believe is actually written to be read during Lent.

  3. Kampen says:

    I wish I knew where to find “Christ on Trial.” I was going to buy it before I left but my University bookstore was out of copies. I did however find some Barth and while I’m not sure “Evangelical Theology” or “Dogmatics in Outline” are particularly “lentian” (if there is such a thing), it’s an excuse to read Barth. I do lament the lack of resources I have in Cairo.

    Also, thanks for the online links Jason. The church fathers pdf looks appetizing.

  4. Melanie. I have a bucket load of books (including some Barth) in pdf version and would be happy to send you any. Just fire me an email.

Leave a Reply

