hortus, ortus: the birth of a blog

“Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears;
I come to bury Caesar, not to praise him.
The evil that men do lives after them;
The good is oft interred with their bones;
So let it be with Caesar.”
(Mark Antony in Julius Caesar, Act III, Scene 2)

Welcome to the intentional thought community that is Ortus Memoria.  A few words on the name: the latin hortus meaning “garden”, and the latin ortus meaning “birth” creates a play on words in regards to the word memoria that follows.  Ortus, in regards to Memoria, names both the birth and the birthing (gardening) of memory and also thought (not to dichotomize memory and thought, but I do want to keep them nuanced).  Memoria, as used by both St.Augustine (Confessions) and Mary Carruthers (The Craft of Thought) names a cultivation of practices that both create/craft thought, as well as work to order thought.  That’s all I will write here by way of introduction. For more on the direction and purpose of this blog click on the “Purpose” heading.

I hope and intend to begin to practice writing blogs soon, so, content to engage should be coming soon.

3 comments on “hortus, ortus: the birth of a blog

  1. JN says:

    Intriguing. I like the name, I appreciate that you took the time to think of something worthwhile. Here’s to the future of the ‘intentional thought community’, high in standards of academic rigor and reveling in the correct application of obscure latin words. Pax huic domui!

  2. adhunt says:

    I followed some traffic back to here. I hadn’t known that you linked our blog but I am a huge fan of your non-violence posts above. Especially using Milbank’s own understanding of “Gift” against him which I something I myself have thought needed to be done. I look forward to more posts.

  3. Kampen says:

    Yes, Milbank is certainly an interesting one to say the least. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

